Living with D.I.D

I have been thinking for sometime about how best to explain what it is like to live with Dissociative Identity Disorder, and eventually have decided that on this occasion  pictures speak far more than words.

About 2 and half years ago I made a short video  in preparation for a conference organised by An Infinite Mind, a US based non-profit organisation (a link is available in the Resources tab).  The  video formed part of a presentation that I gave at the organisations 2012 Healing Together conference entitled ‘Living with DID’. It explains far more easily the impact of DID and other dissociative disorders, then I could possibly do in a blog.

Whilst the film is a little dated, the content relating to Dissociative Identity Disorder is still highly relevant and accurate, the only thing that has changed; a little at least, is my appearance and some of the personal information as I have progressed on my journey towards becoming a survivor and my care needs have changed.

The film is relevant to anyone who wants to know more about this rather complex disorder, including those with a dissociative disorder and those supporting them, as well as professionals from health, social care and the police.

This video will mean you all at least have an idea what I look like, and I hope will help you to understand more about the disorder that impacts every day of my life.  Its time for people to become more aware, of conditions like mine and I hope you all find this useful.

If anyone as any questions after watching this, then please don’t hesitate to contact us, you can either leave a comment, use the questions tab or email us at diddispatches@gmail.com

Copyright DID Dispatches 2014

 

13 thoughts on “Living with D.I.D

  1. Hi Carol,

    Thank you so much for sharing this video with us. It’s good to see a video which gives some insight into D.I.D, and the realities of living with it.

    I hope that in the time since you made the video, that you’re not still having to fight all the same battles (for funding, etc).

    Sending huge well done+thank you hugs ❤

    elle

  2. Nicely done. Love the hope at the end there, much needed for me right now. I hope things have continued to look up for you since. Take care.

    • Bourbon Thank you for your comment, I am glad it gave you hope. Since the film was made I have continued to have therapy and over time have become used to living back in society. When I made the film I had only been out of hospital just over 18 months and it was still quite early days for me getting back into a normal non regimented way of life, I had become very institutionalised in hospital. I have continued to regain lost skills and now live with one of my children, in a quiet village far removed from the trauma and the past. I have recently started work with a new T and my care needs have continued to change as the time has moved on, initially when I left hospital It was decided that I needed 24 hour care, because I had lost so many skills and my mental health was still poor. Now I don’t need as much care and support and I have more choice in my life. I still have no co-consciousness but I have learnt a lot about self care and time management to help all of me. So for example today I have written a blog, watched cartoons, played and now I am answering comments, I know I have switched a number of times today which is all a fairly typical day for someone with D.I.D.
      I truly hope you find the strength and hope you need to help you move forward, I know it isn’t easy and I do have difficult days, more than I would like. But life is for living and I believe all trauma survivors deserve to have a life worth living. Good luck.

    • Surviving out loud Thank you so much for your comments, my healing does continue and at whilst it can at times feel slow I do reflect back and then realise just how far we have come. I am glad people have found the film useful, it wasn’t easy to decide to post it on the blog as I knew prior to that moment I had been totally anonymous. My family thankfully support my decision to post the film and I realise now that if I want to help raise awareness and help others then I need to be brave enough to show myself and not hide.
      I hope you continue to find the blog helpful 🙂

  3. Pingback: The Significant Other’s Guide to Dissociative Identity Disorder | Trauma and Dissociation

  4. Pingback: Physical symptoms of Dissociative Disorders: Somatoform symptoms & SDQ-20 | Trauma and Dissociation

  5. Pingback: DES-II Dissociative Experiences Scale | Trauma and Dissociation

Leave a Reply

