Out of the darkest of times comes hope – the hardest blog to write.

One more year on and it still hurts to remember this awful day when my life changed forever, I will never forget the nightmare MentalHealth Professionals inflicted upon me and my family by moving me to privately run Secure services far away from home.

DIDdispatches Blog

Today has been a significant day, 6 years ago I was driven by my local NHS trust 200 plus miles from home to a privately run secure service. I had been on my first ever section 3 for less than 2 months and was in an open acute ward; no lock on the door and a fair degree of freedom.

The professionals decided I needed trauma therapy and to get that therapy, they needed to separate me from my children and relocate me to the south west coast of the UK. Suddenly for the very first time I felt like a third class citizen, I was deprived of all my clothes bar the ones I was wearing, all my possessions except my teddy were taken away and locked in a room to be searched. I had to eat with a spoon, drink from a plastic cup and worst of all…

View original post 1,425 more words

Leave a Reply

