Sharing time 

image

Sharing time can be an adventure, doing fun things can have a whole different meaning when you do things for yourself. This last weekend I took myself off to a sea life centre I haven’t ventured into one since my eldest child was tiny so that’s more than two decades ago.  But I didn’t go with children in the real sense of the word, but I did go with me, all of me and it was amazing.

Having DID means I can appreciate such experiences from a child perspective, I can look in wonder at things that most adults would just take for granted. But my little me’s can enjoy these things as if it’s there first time experiencing them and with the real wonder of a child, that in turn means I get to enjoy it to, if I work hard at staying co-conscious throughout such adventures. Now that doesn’t mean it’s easy but it does mean I get to have fun if it works well and parts of me get a chance to communicate with me in a far greater way.

The hardest part is often taking the time to do these things, be it going for a stroll on the beach, visiting an attraction or having some time to play. I am often not too great at sharing time and some parts of me don’t feel so worthy of time so they can easily make it difficult as well, yet when time happens and adventures begin its good.

image

I’d planned to go to the sea life centre weeks before and so on the morning was a little worried when a younger part said she wasn’t worthy of the cost, which in her words was expensive. So with a huge amount of persuasion and lots of reinforced messages I assured her that we were worth this. So we stepped out into a sunny morning and ventured to the sea life centre with its penguins, coral reefs, rock pools and otters. Wow did I cherish the few hours we had in a whirl of childhood wonder and amazement, it was truly amazing.

I managed to keep a dialogue going with the younger parts of me and it was at times two way dialogue, so a big step forward from the one sided conversations I used to have. I listened intently at the gasps of surprise as we saw one new thing after another, the Penguins were cute and my littles found them real fun. The rock pool brought a new challenge star fish were there and young children were being encouraged to touch them, now I am clearly an adult and yet inside my littles wanted so much to touch a starfish too. I’d normally feel too conscious of the reactions of others around me to do these things, but the voice in my head was so excited at the thought of touching a starfish that I had to try and overcome my own fears of awkwardness. So we did stroke a starfish, well my hand did and my littles were fully in control and happy. You see to the world I might be an adult but inside of me is a whole host of little parts who never had these opportunities before. They deserve now more than ever to experience the joys of childhood that was so cruelly deprived from them and me.

We moved on to the otters who were a bit of an anticlimax as there was only one awake, but the next step was stingrays and they were funny and got quite a lot of attention. The jelly fish caused more wonder and my littles were very impressed at their beauty. The turtles made for great entertainment and the vast array of different tropical fish at the coral reef was a great attraction too.

image

All the while as I wandered from stage to stage within the complex my little parts were talking away, telling me what they saw, what they liked and pointing out how much fun this was. If I’m honest it was fun for me too, I felt a sense of wonder that I’ve never really experienced before and I felt a sense of calm and inner peace, for once I am giving to myself and that feels good. By the time my adventure came to an end I felt so happy, so relaxed and I really felt I wasn’t alone, as my alters and I were enjoying time together.

It’s been a few days since we went and visited the sea life centre and yet that sense of childlike  wonder is still clear in my mind. I’m more determined than ever to do more days like this, it’s got to be the way forward after all it’s enjoyable and rewarding all at the same time.
Taking time for fun has really helped me this last year and this past weekend it’s helped me acknowledge my own worth and that improves my own self esteem. I’m aware that fun still feels alien and it will be for some time, yet the more I practice the easier and more natural it will become.

I am so looking forward to planning more fun days for my little me’s and I already have a list of places I’d like to go with them. I missed out on so much as a child I guess I’m making up for it now and whilst that may seem odd to some none DID people, it makes perfect sense to me and my alters; the different parts of me.

image

 

Copyright 2015

One thought on “Sharing time 

  1. It sounds like it was a really lovely visit; it makes for a really enjoyable read too. I think the turtles would have been amongst my favourites. Excellent photos too. I hope you can have other similar days for all of you. x

Leave a Reply

